Zoning Approval

Application Process

The City of Avondale Estates requires that all residential and commercial development projects obtain zoning approval. The application outlines required information and attachments. Submitting the application begins the process.  

To Start the Process:

  1. Complete the application.
  2. Submit the application to Ken Morris to trigger a zoning review. 


Items Needed for an Application

Submit a check in the amount of $100.00 payable to the City of Avondale Estates to City Hall within in 48 hours of submitting an application. An application is not considered complete until after receiving the check.

The following attachments are also required:

  • Legal description and plat of property
  • Scale drawing(s) of existing condition
  • Scale drawing(s) of proposed plan   
  • Photos of the structure site to be modified   
  • Photos of the structure as seen from the street

Requested variances or waivers to the zoning code should be listed on the zoning application. Staff will review the application and submitted plans to determine the list of variances and waivers. The current City’s zoning code can be found on Municode.


Planning, Zoning and Architectural Board Review 

There are a few minor variances and Tier 1 waivers that can be granted administratively. The majority of variances and waivers must be reviewed by the Planning, Zoning and Architectural Review Board (PZAB). The PZAB makes recommendations to the Board of Mayor and Commissioners who make final decisions. More details about the review and approval process can be found on Municode


Applications must be submitted by the dates listed below to be reviewed by the PZAB. 


2022 Application Process and PZAB Meeting Dates

Application DeadlinePZAB Meeting Date
Friday, Dec. 10, 2021Monday, Jan. 10, 2022 (second Monday due to holiday)
Friday, Jan. 21, 2022Monday, Feb. 21, 2022
Friday, Feb. 18, 2022Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022Monday, April 18, 2022
Friday, April 15, 2022Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022Monday, June 20, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022Monday, July 18, 2022
Friday, July 15, 2022Monday, Aug. 15, 2022
Friday, Aug. 19, 2022Monday, Sept. 19, 2022
Friday, Sept. 16, 2022Monday, Oct. 17, 2022
Friday, Oct. 14, 2022Monday, Nov. 14, 2022 (second Monday due to holiday)
Friday, Nov. 11, 2022Monday, Dec. 12, 2022 (second Monday due to holiday)